Chaparral Physics

Chaparral Physics logo


Since the acquisition of Chaparral Physics Consultants of NM, and converting it into the Chaparral Physics division of the Geophysical Institute, University of Alaska, in early 2004, we have been in a continuous process of updating, improvements, and bringing the Chaparral Physics product line sensors into the 21st century. With our new models in production, the Model 25 and Model 50, we believe we have finally achieved significant improvements in infrasound sensor technology.

Chaparral Infrasensor
Infrasound sensors

The Model 50 is presently the king of all infrasound sensors; it has broadband response and very low sensor self-noise. It is an observatory grade sensor that can be used for quick field deployments. Its IP 67 rating and all stainless steel and Acetal exterior are weather resistant. A replacement for the MB2000, MB2005, or the old NBS sensors (like the N4). It exceeds in performance of all of those and Chaparral Physics' 5.x series.

Even if you only are interested in the 0.1 to 20 Hz near infrasound band, you may want to consider the Model 50 as its noise specifications are much better than our own more economical 20 series.

The Model 25 is the successor to Globe and Chaparral Physics lines of sensors. It exceeds the performance of all past Model 2.x sensors. The Model 2.5 and Model 25 have built-in 4 port manifold complete with Garden hose thread connectors and options for 1 to 12 inlet ports (potentially saving you the cost of building manifolds for use with wind noise reducing systems). The Model 25 is similar to model 2.5, it has the built-in self-check features of the Model 50 and the differential output signal.


Terms & Conditions of Sale

 ( .pdf )

Additional information or ordering, please contact us:Chaparral Physics emblem

email: chaparral [at] gi [dot] alaska [dot] edu

phone: (907)474-7107
or write: Chaparral Physics
             P.O. Box 757320
             Fairbanks, AK 99775-7320

UAF is an AA/EO employer and educational institution. Last update Winter 2010 by Webmaster.
Copyright © 2010 Geophysical Institute, University of Alaska Fairbanks.